And Suddenly You Know: It’s time to start something new

mickie zada
4 min readOct 2, 2019

And suddenly you know: It’s time to start something new and trust the magic of beginnings. Meister Eckhart

I woke up this morning to my alarm at five. It was still dark outside. We live on a busy street but traffic is sparse so early in the morning. It’s garbage day in my neighborhood; I heard the big, heavy, noisy trucks in the distance. I’m wondering what I’ll wear today; I love that black pencil skirt dress with those new Christian Louboutin’s. My calendar pops into my mind…what’s scheduled?

And then I remember. I am retired.

Re-tire-ment. I left my business career two years ago this month. It was with great joy and some trepidation that I stopped “working”. Isn’t that interesting? When we leave a career for retirement, it’s said that we stopped working. Society assumes we have accomplished our life goals, that it’s time to slow down, we are re-tired.

Not me. I am not tired.

Waking up and hopping out of bed at five is a left-over habit from work. I’ve also discovered that I thoroughly enjoy the peace that is only experienced just before sunrise. Meditation is deeper. Writing ideas and words flow easily. Sitting alone with a lovely cup of tea, in the dark house, watching the sunrise as sky blue pink spans the horizon. I’m in no rush. Every day…

--

--

mickie zada

Hi! I am an enthusiastic participant in life and I believe we create our Reality. My personal Mission is to align with Divine Intent and serve as a beacon.